The Awards

The main ‘Sir Michael Caine Drama Awards’  are presented to the two Winning Drama Groups (junior and senior) and individual trophies are given to the Best Actor and Best Actress in both sections.


The main awards are based on the film ‘The Italian Job’(1969) which starred Michael Caine as Charlie Croker the leader of the gang who masterminded the bullion heist in Milan and escaped in a trio of Minis to an uncertain cliffhanging climax.


The Winning Junior Group receive the “Flying Minis” trophy which they retain for one year. The Winning Senior Group receive the “Teetering Coach” trophy which they also retain for one year. Junior and Senior Winning Groups each receive a cheque for £150. Runners-Up receive cheques for £75.


Junior and Senior Best Actors and Best Actresses each receive a novel ‘Iron Clock’ trophy which they keep.


The ‘Director's Awards’, designed and added in 2015, are awarded to the overall Best Director of the Festival, in the Junior section and Adult section. The trophies being retained for one year.


The ‘Richard Houghton Awards’  are presented ‘for outstanding contribution to the Festival’, (in memory of Richard Houghton who inaugurated the Festival in 2004). They also are retained for one year. In this case, the two winners are chosen by the Festival Organising Committee rather than the adjudicator. 


To stimulate and encourage fresh scriptwriting talent, we award two ‘New Writing’ trophies – one junior and one senior. These trophies are in the form of a metal quill pen on a plinth, made and sponsored by Fire & Iron, and are retained by the winners. In this case it is the scriptwriting not the production which is judged.

The quirky and unique trophies have all been designed and fabricated by the Leatherhead company Fire & Iron who are responsible for a multitude of metal projects worldwide including the gates to Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre in London. Their showrooms are at Rowhurst Forge, Oxshott Road, Leatherhead, Surrey KT22 0EN, and are well worth a visit